On book shows and creative challenges!

A week ago, I went down to the Indiana University Art Museum to see a show curated by my Bookbinding professor. Out of the kindness of her heart, she decided to give those in the Book Arts courses at IUPUI the opportunity to have our work displayed throughout the month of May, and I was fortunate enough to have four of my books featured in the atrium of the Fine Arts Library at the Museum. Unfortunately, due to Museum rules, I couldn’t use my normal camera and was thus forced to smuggle in my cell phone and Tweet the images out to the public. Here are a few from my dubious little lens, although more images are available at my Twitpic account.

True story: part of this book is sewn!

I-17 is a fold book about my big, fat boner for Arizona. It's made from printer paper and a really awesome Tibetan rag paper being sewn together on your garden variety sewing machine. The dust box for it was made with the same beautiful Tibetan paper and handmade cotton paper. Good times!

THE COLORING RULES OF MRS. PEEDIN: A Piano Hinge Book

Piano hinge books are difficult enough to make, but when you decide that gluing together coloring book pages is a good idea, it gets double hard because of the lack of flexibility the paper has. I decided to make this book on a rather OCD elementary school art teacher who had very exacting rules RE: what one should and shouldn't do when coloring. Shit was crazy, but it stuck with me for life.

ANALOGY: An Accordion Book with a Clamshell Box

Analogy was a very frail book; its accordion page spine was made from this really wispy paper that was originally used for wedding invitations. As such, it was given a small clamshell box to protect it from handling. Go figure: the damn thing fits so perfectly, it's pseudo-stuck in the box. Analogy, by the by, was a four-part book about dealing with depression through the analogy of a flower going through the seasons. Yeah, it's as pretentious as it sounds, but the cover was pretty.

In other news, I’m going to be going from these weird once-a-month postings to once-a-day! Woohoo! Why, you might ask? I’ve decided to sign up for The Thirty Days Project in order to gear from a month’s “vacation” out of the studio into a daily studio practice. Although my official “project” will be to work on small pieces that can eventually contribute to a larger whole (body of work/oil paintings, perhaps?), its unofficial tag-along will be to write about all of its bits and bobs here! I’m excited! (And scared.)

    • Eric
    • May 31st, 2010

    Oh God. You just HAD to bring up Nancy Peedin, didn’t you? I don’t know which was worse: her rules for coloring or those goddamned branching trees.

    • You forgot the painful attention to shading (slowly! darker now!), dubious usage of papier mache for equally dubious designs, and programming on Apple IIs. I don’t even think I was able to finish all my picture before the school year was over, to the preservation of all.

        • Eric
        • June 1st, 2010

        And – wait for it – THREE “distinct” kinds of stitching yarn in burlap!

      • I’m starting to think your memory of unfortunate occurrences in the history of the lost souls of Mooresville, Indiana is insanely iron-clad. I almost forgot The Case of the Burlap Sampler even existed. (And for good reason — I chose a clown as my subject why again, Younger Self?)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

