30 DAYS, DAY SEVEN: “Untitled,” Canvas-in-Progress

DAY SEVEN: "Untitled"

"Untitled." 30"x24". Repurposed pattern paper and gesso on linen.

I’m hoping that something more organic comes from this week, as I’m going with my instincts: larger projects split into smaller steps, versus this entire LET’S MAKE SOMETHING IN ONE DAY STOP. By vowing to do this already, I’ve made something I like — or rather, the foundation to something I’m going to really like. This is a reclaimed canvas from a former project that I made last semester that I Hated with a capital H; it’s going to be my first foray into one of my experiments with incorporating collage elements with oil painting. I’m super-stoked, as I’m already liking what I’m seeing just one day into the gessoing process. My plans: more pattern paper! More gesso, both of the white and clear varieties! Then, I’ll sand down and start with the actual painting — but first, a series of thumbnail sketches to figure out compositions and all that fun jazz. If anybody from Thirty Days is reading this: major shout out to the person who commented on my first origami piece, for you gave me the idea for this series! THANKS!

By the by, if you want to see another more head-on angle of this piece-in-progress, check out this page on Flickr.

  1. I look forward to seeing the completed piece!

    • Thank you! Life has gotten a little hairy at the moment, but I’ve finally managed to get a solid idea out for what I want on the surface so hopefully I’ll be able to show progress quite soon!

  1. June 7th, 2010

Leave a Reply

