30 DAYS PROJECT, DAY NINE: “Thumbnails,” Canvas-in-Progress

DAY NINE: "Untitled"

"Untitled sketches." 8"x10". Graphite on inkjet print-out with tape and ballpoint pen (sketchbook).

Today’s post: a look into the world of how I develop concepts into my sketchbook! Maybe it’s because of the fact that I love collaging for texture or whatever, but I always end up succeeding in my sketchbook for conceptual work a fair lot better if I’m working on top of print-outs from the computer. DON’T ASK ME WHY; I JUST DO. In this case, I took pictures of my now-mostly finished canvas (all it needs is a sand!), organized the thumbnails in Photoshop, et voila! There’s an unfortunate shadow in my studio that created that diagonal coloring effect, but I find it to be a happy accident that I’m probably going to incorporate into whatever composition I choose first. I like most of them a fair amount, but I think the one in the lower left hand corner is what I’m going with first.

  1. June 9th, 2010

Leave a Reply

